RSS Feed

per·fec·tion

per·fec·tion

Spelled[per-fek-shuh                         n]

noun

1. the state or quality of being or becoming perfect.

2. the highest degree of proficiency, skill, or excellence, as in some art.

3. a perfect embodiment or example of something.

4. a quality, trait, or feature of the highest degree of excellence.

5. the highest or most nearly perfect degree of a quality or trait.

6. the act or fact of perfecting.

When did you and I begin to believe that we should be perfect in every way?

Do you actually believe that it is possible to attain perfection in all that you do?  The last time I checked, we were human beings.  Human beings are imperfect creatures.  We know this.  It is a basic truth.  Yet, we aspire to be flawless in every aspect of our lives.

Today, I am making myself a promise.  I promise to let go of the fallacy that it is possible for me to do everything perfectly.

So what if my house isn’t spotless from top to bottom at any given moment of the day? Too bad if all the beds aren’t made and there is dust on the ceiling fan in my bedroom.  The laundry isn’t done?   I gained 5 more pounds over the holidays and my pants are too tight?    Really?  Ask me if I care.

Who am I fooling?  Of course, I care.  Too much!

I have come to the realization that if I want to be at peace with myself, that I have to learn to let go more.  When I became a mother almost 15 years ago, it became evident to me that I had to relax my standards.  As a new mom holding down a full-time job outside the home, it just wasn’t possible for me to maintain the same level of cleanliness and organization in my house.  Who did I think I was, Wonder Woman? (I’d like to see how Wonder Woman would handle having one kid let alone three! )

When I left my full-time job back in March to become a stay-at-home mom, my neighbor joked with me about how I was turning into June Cleaver.  (She once told me that she thought she was going back in time to 1950’s when she stopped by at my house to drop off a gift.  The house just happened to be clean, there was a roast in the oven and the table was set for dinner.  She said the only thing that was missing was my house dress, apron and pearls.)

Yes, June was nearly close to perfect and she didn’t even own a dishwasher or a microwave!

I don’t claim to be Wonder Woman or June Cleaver, although I wouldn’t mind having those ladies around to give me some pointers.  I’m just me- imperfect in many ways – just trying to be the best I can be one day at a time.

How about you?

4 responses »

  1. Just visited our nephew, Tim, and wife, Kathleen, tonight to celebrate Christmas….yes we are a bit late. Tim and Kath have three kids under 5. I gave Kath a piece of advice that I cannot call my own. When I had Patrick 14 1/2 years ago, someone told me all the rooms in your house will never be clean again at the same time. As a working mom, I feel it is more important to hug my kids, spend time on their homework and go to their games. But today, I spent 2 hours cleaning out the drawers and top of Mariel’s dresser looking for her watch. Dust be gone ….. 2 months of it built up but I do not feel any shame. My kids are happy!

    Reply
  2. Hi Jeannine!
    Thank you for the E-mail reminder. OF COURSE I LOVED THIS ENTRY! You ARE June Cleaver. What you neglected to mention about that night was that you looked great, granted no pearls or apron but nicely dressed with makeup, the kids were clean, well behaved and quietly doing their homework, and in walks Paul who was obvioulsy happy to be home. Now how “Perfect” is all that? You’re right we all strive for that perfection, most of us miss the mark several times a day (I KNOW I do!), but my dear, you are as close to perfect as anyone I know.
    Love you,
    Mrs. Haskell

    Reply

Leave a Reply

